Empowerment, unhealthy relationships, and self-love: 3 lies female artists tell you

At Beautiful Media, our goal is to share thoughts on the beauty found in different forms of media. However, in order to seek beautiful media, we must be aware of what to avoid and what to consider before making a song, book, movie, or television show our new favorite. Here are three lies often fed to us through female artists and their music.

1. You should feel empowered

Demi Lovato’s “Confident” says it all. “What’s wrong with being confident?”

Nothing at all, obviously. So why is it that being “confident” means flaunting yourself, kicking butt, and putting up walls? Is that really where our confidence should be found? Demi’s song continues by saying:

“I make my own choice

**tch, I run this show

So leave the lights on

No, you can’t make me behave”

Similarly, Fifth Harmony’s “Worth it” may be catchy, but what kind of message are they preaching? “Baby I’m worth it,” is the phrase they repeat. But nowhere in the song do they exemplify individuals with dignity who deserve the respect they want. In fact, they say

“Show me what you got,

cus I don’t wanna waste my time…

make it worth my while”

While these girls are singing about feeling powerful and desiring respect, their conceited and negative attitudes are giving off a very different vibe.

2. What’s bad for you isn’t actually that bad

Unfortunately, female artists can do a great job at showing what an unhealthy mindset and relationship can look like compared to a healthy one. In Selena Gomez’s explicitly sexual song, “Hands to Myself,” she sings,

“My doctor says you’re no good

But people say what they wanna say

And you should know if I could

I’d breathe you in every single day”

 

In her new single, “Run Away with Me,” Carly Rae Jepsen says,

“Baby, take me to the feeling

I’ll be your sinner, in secret

When the lights go out”

Although they attempt to make these feelings and behavior sound normal and gratifying, they’re buying into the belief that the physical side of things is all that matters. Songs should encourage girls to respect themselves and their bodies, not do the opposite.
3. All you need is self-love

Hailee Steinfeld’s debut single “Love Myself” is an upbeat tune, addressing the power of self-love and the ability to get along on your own. She sings,

“I love me.

Gonna love myself,

no, I don’t need anybody else.”

But Hailee’s sexually-understated lyrics allude to more than just fulfilling physical desires. They also convey desires of the heart. While God wants us to love ourselves because we are created in his image, it’s a lie to believe that loving ourselves will satisfy. In truth, the only love we really need is a perfect love that sees past every flaw and completes us more than we—or anyone—ever could.

Leave a Reply

