A Christian’s Response to Social Media

Glacier lakell

We had spent hours hiking up the mountain. We climbed over boulders, around streams, and through towering pines. When we finally reached the top, our senses were overwhelmed with the pure beauty of a mountaintop lake. I had never seen anything so magnificently beautiful my entire life. Truly.

So, what did I do? I whipped out my phone to capture this expanse of wonder on a 4” screen to share with friends.

This is nothing new. It’s nearly a necessity to be involved in social media today. We live in an age where creating the so-called “perfect post” dictates our lives. In my case, this “perfect-post” mentality limited my ability to simply sit and absorb the beautiful creation around me. Everyone else needed to know that I had climbed and conquered.

A recent article I read dives into how a Christian should interact with social media (check it out here). This article asks Christians four questions concerning social media involvement:

  1. Am I walking by the Spirit?

As Christians, we are called to glorify God in our actions, including those on social media.

  1. Am I bragging?

Even if it is a God-honoring post, does my motivation reflect a prideful heart?

  1. Am I battling envy and discontent?

Social media can be a breeding ground for discontentment as we scroll past friends who are getting accepted to grad school, getting married, having children, or traveling.

  1. Is this the best use of my time?

We can easily spend an average of 3 hours a day on social media…. Is this the most productive use of the time God has given us?

Social media isn’t bad. In fact, it is an amazing place where “we can point people to Jesus with the light of our lives, with eternal truth, and with grace-filled interactions.”

For the next week, I challenge you to ask yourself these four questions before you post. Who knows, you may find that you encounter more beautiful mountaintops than you imagined – you just couldn’t see them behind the 4” screen in front of you.

 

-Megan W

Leave a Reply

